Read-A-Thon: My Own Challenge

A little morning coffee with your favourite book

A little morning coffee or tea with your favourite book

I took a BBC quiz recently and was very disappointed by my results. I had only read 11 of the listed classics, just over the average of 6.

That’s when I realized I don’t read as much as I used to, or as often as I should. Stephen King says that if you don’t have time to read, you don’t have the time or tools to write.

Books are how we writers learn the craft–they were our first teacher and mentor, showing us the ways to excite, thrill, terrify and capture our readers. It was through reading Nancy Drew mysteries that I learned about the magic of cliffhangers, through Anne of Green Gables that I learned about the power and beauty of descriptive language, and through Tolkien that I learned about the philosophy of words.

That’s why I’ve taken it upon myself to read as many classics as I can over the next few months and post my thoughts about them. I enjoy reading and have read a fair amount, but I haven’t read nearly enough classics in my opinion.

I’ve set a goal for about 15 and September as a deadline, as I think the summer months are the perfect time to kick back and enjoy some reading outdoors on a nice patio. I plan to start April 28th.

The only read-a-thon I’ve really tried is Canada Reads and that was a great experience in discovering new books that I might not have chosen to read.

Coincidentally, Dewey’s 24-hour Read-a-thon happens today and on a day in October. People read books for 24 hours, post on their blogs about their experience and visit other people’s blogs.  Maybe I’ll try Dewey’s read-a-thon in October.

Do you read as often as you’d like? Do you participate in any read-a-thons?

http://24hourreadathon.com/

http://www.cbc.ca/books/canadareads/index.html

http://www.listchallenges.com/kaunismina-bbc-6-books-challenge

 

4 thoughts on “Read-A-Thon: My Own Challenge

  1. LindaGHill says:

    I’d never even heard of a read-a-thon before. And holy cow, did we have the same childhood? Nancy Drew, Anne, and LOTR were some of my firsts and favourites too!
    I actually don’t read as much as I’d like to. Between blogging, editing, and looking after my kids (what’s housework? haha) I probably only manage to read for about an hour a day – not including blog posts that is. I really need to schedule my time better.
    Great post! I’ll check out the read-a-thons you’ve linked to.
    Where in Canada are you? I’m about two hours east of Toronto.

    • creativewriter says:

      Yeah, great aren’t they? I just found out about read-a-thons from a favourite YouTuber of mine 🙂
      I think we did have the same childhood! Twins in alternate universes, reading some of the greatest series ever written 😛 I think an hour a day is good- it sounds like you have a habit down. I’ve really gotten out of the habit of reading and this read-a-thon will really help me I hope.
      Cool! We’re more similar than I realized. I’m near Toronto as well 🙂

Leave a Reply

