readathons

Today is Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-A-Thon!

What is Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-A-Thon, you ask?

It’s a fun reading challenge where you choose a book (or a few books) and read as much as possible during the day. You can read for the full 24 hours and suffer a sleep-deprived, reading hangover…or read for most of the day. The thing that’s great about it is that you can commit ten hours to reading or only one hour. You can also choose to read whatever you like (any length, genre, number of books).

Readers are encouraged to sign up on the website, which is here. Readers are also encouraged to share their reading experiences on any number of social media sites like Tumblr, blogging platforms, YouTube, etc. You can even participate in mini challenges and win prizes!

I’m participating for the first time this year with The Shining by Stephen King (I’m on a bit of a Stephen King craze right now) and Get The Guy by Matthew Hussey.  I find it really funny how I’m alternating between a book about a crazed writer in a strange hotel to a book about how I can amp up my social life (it is a book about dating and relationships but a large portion of its intent is to make you a more sociable person, passionate about sharing your interests and meeting like-minded people).

To give you an update, I did wake up late (lazy, much?) and started reading in the early afternoon. I’ve barely made a dent in The Shining as it’s a fairly thick book but I’m invested in the story enough that I’ll be reading it regularly. I’m almost halfway through Get the Guy: this is a book I started before the read-a-thon and am using as a lighter read in between breaks with The Shining. I sort of made my own rules in choosing to read a book I’ve already started. Although, the organizers of this read-a-thon leave the impression that you can approach this read-a-thon in whatever way works best for you.

So far, it’s working out pretty nicely. I’m taking it at my own pace–knowing I don’t need to finish a book in an entire day–and relishing in the leisurely enjoyment of reading. The whole point of reading, to me anyway, is to really enjoy a book at your own pace and not rush through it.

I’m more aware of my reading habits too. I like to read in small intervals and take breaks throughout the day. It’s an exception if the book is very compelling and addictive–then I might stay up all night to finish it. I’m also exposing myself to different forms of writing and writers that I don’t usually read: non-fiction writing and male writers. I think it’s beneficial to have an open mind about the types of books you read–otherwise you cut yourself off from new perspectives and new ways of thinking.

Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-A-Thon has turned out to be a fun, enlightening experience for me. If you missed it this year, no worries!  It happens twice a year, so the next one is in April.

Are you participating in any read-a-thons this year? What are you reading this month?

1 thought on “Today is Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-A-Thon!”

Leave a Reply

