writing tips

Reflecting On The New Year

Christmas and 2015 are just around the corner, perfect opportunities to relax, unwind and reflect.

In the midst of my reflection, I thought about how I’ve progressed with this blog and my writing. I decided I’d take a short hiatus to reflect and unwind with family and friends in the next few weeks. Monday Minute, Wednesday Words of Wisdom and Follow Friday will be back in the New Year though!

In reflecting, I went back to my very first blog post and thought I’d share it with you below. The comic still makes me smile 🙂 You can also find the original here.

Conquering Writer’s Block

It hits all writers. You’re in the middle of writing a gripping story and the flow of ideas just seems to stop. It seems you can’t come up with anything fascinating or interesting enough. But don’t despair. There are ways to fight writer’s block. Most of it is all in your head. It’s only a matter of changing your attitude towards this pesky villain.

Here’s what you can do:

1.      Expose yourself to other forms of art

Watch your favourite film or flip through your favourite television shows. Visit an art museum. Music, film, paintings, photographs and other artistic material help you gain perspective, and see things in a new light. You’ll get outside from your fiction world and instead see the bigger world. It might also give you some ideas.

2.      Exercise

Exercise has a lot of benefits. Not only will you shape up, but you’ll get your blood flowing and your brain working. You’ll be surprised at how much a walk relaxes you, refreshes your mind and gets you thinking.

3. Get writing

Work through your writer’s block. Sometimes it’s just a self-fulfilling prophecy; you’re just telling yourself that you can’t do it and believing it. It doesn’t matter if your writing is not very good, you can always edit it and make it even better next time.

4. Take a break

If working through it doesn’t help, take a rest from writing. Sometimes we need time away from our writing to actually get back into it. You may be thinking about it too much and forcing yourself to write. A break can help you brainstorm and mull over ideas. Just don’t take too long of a break or you’ll get yourself into a bad habit.

Remember to keep focused and working hard. Writer’s block can discourage you, but only if you let it. At the end of the day, you’re the one who has the power to give your story and characters life.

What do you do to conquer writer’s block? If you have any tips, feel free to comment or contact me.


That’s my 2012 throwback, which makes me go: “Woah, I’ve changed a bit since then!”

I wanted to wish everyone a Merry Christmas, a Happy Hanukkah, a Happy Kwanzaa and a Happy New Year! I hope your new year is full of every success and happiness. 🙂

6 thoughts on “Reflecting On The New Year”

    1. This makes me feel better about taking a break 🙂 I felt it was needed. That’s a great idea, especially jotting down random words–they can be great writing prompts. I often jot down things I see but have gotten out of the habit of doing it. Thanks for sharing!

  1. Sometimes I think life is nothing but dealing with one writer’s block after another. Carry on, have a happy and creative New Year — and I’m a sucker for anyone who has a nice pen in her header. 🙂

  2. Hello, I have a quick question–I finally responded to the nomination, but are the others made aware of it through comments? I realize this might be an odd question, but I am not tech savvy. Thanks

    1. Hi, yes I’ve always been made aware of the nomination through comments left on my About page. They link back to me on their blogs but I never seem to get any notification or pingback from the linking. Hope this helps!

Leave a Reply

