Friday Favourites

Follow Friday: Poetry and Prose

Follow Friday is a weekly series, inspired by the Twitter trend #Follow Friday. Each Friday, I suggest blogs that I follow to my readers. For this week’s “Follow Friday”, the theme is poetry and prose.

I often think that poetry is an under-appreciated and under-rated art. I don’t often write poetry but think it’s a beautiful art form. I admire poets who seem to write effortless prose. I just love the simplicity and beauty of poetry.

Here are some blogs that share great poetic pieces:

Polly: Polly Robinson is a member of the Worcester Writers’ Circle, Worcestershire LitFest team and 42Worcester. Her work has been published in anthologies and she has shared her poetry at many venues. I absolutely adore Polly’s writing. She shares first drafts of her poetry and prose, and the drafts following. To me, her poems are very whimsical and pretty. It’s also great to see her writing process and edits through the different drafts she shares.

Shawn L. Bird: Shawn Bird is a high school English teacher and librarian, poet and author. I love reading her poems, which are full of a beautiful simplicity but deep messages underneath the surface. She has also published a book called Grace Awakening: Dreams and Power.

UP!::urban po’E.Tree(s): I really enjoy reading the poetry on this blog. It’s modern and cool and deep. It also gives me the same sense and feeling that spoken word does with its natural rhythm. The poems are meaningful and really get you to think about society.

Happy Friday! Hope you have a great weekend.

 

Leave a Reply

