writing quotes

Wednesday Words of Wisdom: J.K. Rowling

I came across this great quote on Pinterest and thought, “Yeah, I can really relate to that!”

“The idea of just wandering off to a café with a notebook and just writing and seeing where that takes me for a while is bliss.” -J.K. Rowling

Do you ever wander down to a café to just write away?

I find I don’t do this often–probably not often enough–but when I do, it’s always a pleasant experience. I find the words just flow, the music and sounds urge me on, and I have a warm cup of coffee to keep me calm. Ironically, in the midst of a busy Starbucks café with its people and music, I find I can concentrate a lot better.

I tried writing in cafes last year during NaNoWriMo and found I really enjoyed it.

I don’t have anyone distracting me. There’s no TV blaring in the living room. There’s no to-do list beside me or chores to do.

I think it’s good to change up your writing environment every now and then. It’s a change of pace, a change of atmosphere and a change from everyday life. I really think it helps your writing and your thinking too.

It’s such a stereotypical image to me: a writer sitting in their favourite coffee-house down the street, sipping on a latte as they write. 🙂 Nonetheless, it can be a nice experience.

Usually my writing space is a drafty basement where I sip on a cup of coffee with some music playing in the background. While that’s okay in its own way, a café is much cozier and has a more ambient mood. So it’s a good change.

You can even do some people-watching or conversation eavesdropping for your story! (But in the non-creepy way, of course). 😛

And maybe it’s the act of wandering, the act of physical movement that helps our brains work in a different way. Maybe it helps our minds wander too.

Do you find it helps you write better if you get out of the house? Do you like the idea of writing in cafes or other public places?

 

2 thoughts on “Wednesday Words of Wisdom: J.K. Rowling”

Leave a Reply

