writing quotes

Wednesday Words of Wisdom: Ernest Hemingway

“There is no rule on how to write. Sometimes it comes easily and perfectly; sometimes it’s like drilling rock and then blasting it out with charges.” -Ernest Hemingway

This is probably the truest quote I’ve read on writing. There really is no special process to writing. It’s not formulaic and logical like math or science. It’s spontaneous and organic and defies logic. It’s a mysterious process that can seem very easy or sometimes very hard.

The comparison he uses of writing being like drilling rock and then blasting it out is the perfect way to describe it. I feel like I’m drilling against stubborn, endless rock.

Ideas and words often rise to the surface out of the depths of your mind. But they also lay buried in there too and sometimes…you have to dig them out.

5 thoughts on “Wednesday Words of Wisdom: Ernest Hemingway”

  1. Totally agree. I am one of those people who cannot stop themselves from editing as they go along, so for me, producing work of any reasonable length always feels like drilling rock extremelyyyyy slowlyyyy… With a blunt drill. ^_^ But the end result is worth it!

    1. So true! I think writers are generally perfectionists, so we can drive ourselves crazy. haha Yes, it feels like using a blunt drill! Perfect comparison. 🙂 I agree- you just get such a sense of accomplishment from completing something difficult, more so than something that seems easy. By the way, how’s your book challenge going? 😀

      1. Hahaha… I have to admit I am terribly behind on the book challenge 😛 I am currently reading about 6 books simultaneously but I haven’t been able to actually COMPLETE any of them yet… I’m a Literature student so I need to hurry up and finish them or I will end up suffering dire consequences (death by exam paper, for example.) ^_^ Haha… Thank you for asking, though. 😊

      2. 6 books is a lot though. Well, for me anyway. 🙂 I often read a couple books simultaneously but end up only focusing on one until I finish the others haha. I know the feeling- I was a writing student and the first year was full of books to finish lol. Best of luck with your reading challenge and exams!

Leave a Reply

