Monday Minute: The Colour Green

St. Patrick’s Day is tomorrow and I’m thinking of the colour green, along with all of its associations. 

What do you think of when you see the colour green?

I don’t often think about colours and their associations but they can really carry a lot of connotations. Bright colours are often used in fast food restaurants to make people hungry and muted colours are used in corporate logos to create an image of professionalism. There’s a whole psychology behind the use of colours in marketing–it’s really very interesting.

But when I think of green, I think of a lot of different things.

I think of spring when the grass starts peeking out beneath the snow and when the buds appear on the trees, tightly sheltering the leaves inside that are patiently waiting to bloom.

I also think of Ireland. The Emerald Isle. This is the place I want to visit one day–a misty, faraway place that seems mysterious in its beauty. I want to know more about the country my ancestors came from long ago.

When I see green, I see energy and life. The words rich and verdant come to mind. You know the land is healthy when it’s been nourished by a heavy summer rain.

I also think of St. Patrick’s Day, with its green hats, green beer and sayings like ‘Kiss me, I’m Irish.’ I think of the Shamrock Shake, the minty green shake sold at McDonalds that’s become so popular around the spring season.

But most of all, I think the celebration of St. Patrick’s Day and its green association is a celebration of the spring to come, in my interpretation. One thing I’ve come to appreciate about St. Patrick’s Day is that not only does it celebrate Irish heritage and culture, but it’s also inclusive of other people. You don’t have to be Irish to celebrate and take part in the festivities. I love how Toronto gets into the early spirit of it.

As I type this, I’m looking out the window at the snow coating the backyard and the balcony outside, and really wishing for spring to come soon.

The winter has its own kind of beauty…but by March, you’re ready for warm sunshine, the songs of birds and bright flowers.

What does the colour green mean for you?

Feel free to share in the comments below or share a post on your thoughts about this.

2 thoughts on “Monday Minute: The Colour Green

Leave a Reply

