Lazy Saturday: Stacking the Shelves #2

Ah, lazy Saturdays…I’m looking out the window at early Canadian spring and don’t like what I see. Cold snow, drizzly rain and grey skies . Spring is officially here but it certainly doesn’t look like it! On this particular cool day, I’ve rounded up a list of reads while I keep warm and cozy.

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme, hosted by Tynga’s Reviews. This meme is all about sharing the books you’re adding to your shelves, whether physical or virtual. You can include books you buy in store or online, books you borrow from friends or the library, review books, gifts and e-books.

Stacking the Shelves

If you want to create your own Stacking the Shelves post, be sure to link back to Tynga’s Reviews. You can also format the post however you like and post it any day you like but be sure to visit Tynga’s Reviews on a Saturday to share your link so others can see your post! If you’re interested, visit other participant’s links to see what they’re adding to their shelves.

Here’s what I’ve added to my shelves this week:

gifts/borrowing

Loving Will Shakespeare

Tender is the Night

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Loving Will Shakespeare is a gift my best friend gave me for my birthday. I love period books and movies so it’s a great pick. I’m intrigued to read it because it’s a romantic story about Will Shakespeare and his wife,  Anne Hathaway. My friend and I both thought this was cool because we first think of the actress Anne Hathaway when we hear that name! There are a lot of theories and speculation about William Shakespeare and his identity, which I think is very intriguing. It seems like even less is known about his wife, Anne. So I’ll be looking forward to the author’s interpretation of these two famous people.

Tender is the Night is a book my sister loves. She is also a fan of Fitzgerald’s writing so I’m trusting her judgment on this one. Plus, I think Fitzgerald’s writing is very beautiful.

Green Grass Running Water         The Orenda

 

Green Grass, Running Water is a book I’m borrowing from my brother. (My siblings are pretty avid readers too). I’m looking forward to reading this book because Thomas King’s The Inconvenient Indian was a runner-up in Canada Reads 2015. Canada Reads is basically a book competition, where public figures champion a book in televised debates. Thomas King writes about First Nations people, so I’m very excited to read and learn more about First Nations culture.

The Orenda – Speaking of First Nations people, this book was a Canada Reads Winner in 2014. The Orenda was voted as the book that would change Canada. This novel shows the meeting of three people whose lives intertwine: an Iroquois girl, a Huron chief and a Jesuit missionary. 

 

bought
The Name of the Wind

The Name of the Wind is a book I bought quite a while ago (maybe about a year ago). I started reading it, didn’t know what to make of it and stopped reading. This book has quite a few mixed reviews but an overall high rating. The writing is pretty good and the story is intriguing but some people, myself included, disliked the main character, Kvothe.

He seems a little too perfect for my liking; I have yet to see a real flaw in him. This makes it difficult for me to root for the protagonist or feel invested in his story. I feel like some weakness, vice or struggle is needed to make a story engrossing. However, I still really want to finish this book to form a final opinion on it.

4 thoughts on “Lazy Saturday: Stacking the Shelves #2

Leave a Reply

