Fiction/Non-fiction

Word for Wednesday: Quiet

This Wednesday, I decided to try something different from my regular Wednesday Words of Wisdom. I found  Word for Wednesday (W4W), hosted and created by Kittykat-BitsandBobs, while scrolling through The Daily Post on WordPress. As someone who loves writing and words, I had to participate in this great event. 

Word for Wednesday

As a writer or even a blogger, every word you choose has an impact and makes a statement. I think it’s important to step back and examine words in writing. To see past the obvious to the deeper meaning and the connotations we get from words.

 

My chosen word for today is quiet: 

Quiet is a word that’s often been used to describe me. It’s my identifier, my label, my badge. And I say badge because I’m proud to wear this word.

Being quiet is part of who I am. Unfortunately, quiet is mistakenly associated with being shy, snobbish or troubled. I was often asked throughout my school and personal life: “Why are you so quiet?”

When someone sits quietly and observes, listening rather than talking, some people are confused and stunned. Why wouldn’t that person want to join in the conversation and have fun?

The truth of the matter is I was both shy and quiet. I’m no longer shy but quiet. The two are often paired together but they are not the same. Shyness is a fear of social situations, where the person is afraid and uncomfortable in social interactions. Quietness is more about keeping your thoughts and opinions to yourself, and being comfortable in your own company. Quiet is more similar to the word “reserved” than “shy.” An introvert is often quiet but not necessarily shy. When you are quiet, you’re more private, discreet and choose carefully what to share about yourself to others.

Nowadays I consider myself an introvert who sometimes likes to dance around, go to social events and joke around. My shyness, like a cold winter sheet of ice, has slowly faded away. I haven’t been called shy in a long time. I don’t blame people for their curiosity about my quiet nature. People just want to get to know another person or are just generally curious.

But being quiet shouldn’t be seen as a bad thing, a weakness or a minus in someone’s personality. It also shouldn’t inaccurately be confused with shyness. Shyness is nothing to be ashamed of either- it’s a fear that you can overcome. 🙂 An introverted personality should be celebrated and accepted, just as a wacky, humorous or extroverted personality is in society. I hope that people can learn to understand different personality types: that how you behave and act and feel is tied more to how you gain meaning and energy in your life rather than something that can easily be changed or altered.


If you’d like to participate, here are the rules:

  • Choose your own word.
  • Write about it.
  • Tag it W4W.
  • Link it back to Kittykat-BitsandBobs via the comments section.
  • Add the badge to your post if you’d like.

 

6 thoughts on “Word for Wednesday: Quiet”

  1. I am with you all the way. I was once told in a group that I am reserved. it was meant as negative feedback to tell me that I should be more outgoing. I guess I made it difficult for them to judge me in any other way. It was not my intention. It is just who I am. I also learned to participate more in discussions. That is if the talkative extroverts give you a chance.

    1. Yeah, sometimes even simply being reserved is seen as a bad thing when it’s just people’s natural inclination. When I first meet people, I’m reserved as well and I’ve also been told that I should open up/talk more. I like to think our personality types are mysterious but I suppose we’re hard to read for some people. I find this difficult if I barely know/can read the other person. Haha, I agree- sometimes it’s hard to get a word in edgewise 🙂 Thanks for sharing your thoughts and experience!

  2. I am delighted you joined in!
    I can identify very easily with you. As a child I was quiet and as a teen I was pretty reserved and was often called snobbish or frosty, which I certainly am not.
    Over the years I’ve left that behind, I found my voice and I frequently use it! Although, I don’t force myself down peoples throats.
    I am an extrovert who loves time alone with herself and I enjoy my own company. To be honest, I think I’ve managed to get the best of both worlds!
    I’ve followed you and look forward to reading more of your blog.
    Cheers
    K x

    1. It’s nice to hear from people who share similar experiences and identify in the same way. That’s great–I think you do have the best of both worlds. I think introverts/extroverts who can alternate between the two and ambiverts have it best. 🙂 Thanks for sharing your thoughts! I look forward to more of your Word for Wednesdays, they’re a very good exercise.

      1. Cool! Yeah when I first learned about extroverts and introverts I found out there’s also ambiverts and thought that was really awesome. Kind of like people with ambidexterity. No prob 🙂

Leave a Reply

