Book Reviews

March Summary: The Fault in Our Stars

Author: John Green
Format: Paperback
Published: January 10, 2012
My Rating on Goodreads: 4 out of 5 stars

The Fault in Our Stars

 

This was supposed to be a Saturday Summary but my March got very, very busy all of a sudden. I’ve been doing volunteer work, completing an online course and looking for jobs. Even though it takes me forever to finish a book, my love for reading has been rekindled. It’s nice to be able to still fit in an enjoyable read though, like The Fault in Our Stars, despite a busy schedule.

 

“My thoughts are stars I cannot fathom into constellations.”- John Green, The Fault in Our Stars


The Fault in Our Stars tells the story of Hazel Lancaster, a terminally-ill teenage girl who meets the charismatic Augustus Waters at a cancer support group. Together, they find life, love and adventure in Amsterdam amidst illness.

This is definitely an inspiring read–it tells the reader to live life to the fullest, to enjoy each day and make it count. More than that though, it approaches life and death with blunt, bold humour, offering hope and optimism in a world that’s sometimes very tragic and unfair. I love how Green was able to use humour in a book with such serious subject matter.

John Green’s characters, Hazel and Augustus (called ‘Gus’ for short) are smart, funny and realistic characters. Green doesn’t sugar coat things and his characters don’t either. The characters feel like people I would know and talk to in real life, so this was another aspect of the story that made the book so likeable.

Underneath its quirkiness and humour is a deep message about life. John Green examines the notion of life after death, spirituality and the act of living itself.

The Fault in Our Stars is touching, uplifting and heart-breaking all at once. I think John Green has been able to speak to a young generation and reach them. For that, I rate The Fault in Our Stars pretty high at 4 out of 5 stars on Goodreads and consider it a great contemporary read.

4 thoughts on “March Summary: The Fault in Our Stars”

      1. I love one line in the book. “Just by keeping distance from me wouldn’t lower my affection for you”
        This line is so so much beautiful!! ^_^

Leave a Reply

