writing quotes

Wednesday Words of Wisdom: Shonda Rhimes

I haven’t done a Wednesday Words of Wisdom in a while but I thought this quote would help me come back with a bang. This week’s writer is Shonda Rhimes: screenwriter, producer and director.

“You want to be a writer? A writer is someone who writes everyday–so start writing.” -Shonda Rhimes 

 You’re probably most familiar with Rhimes’ work on Grey’s Anatomy, Private Practice, How to Get Away with Murder and Scandal. Phew! Those are some credentials.

When I saw this, I thought this quote was so great. I think it’s something I rarely accept and find hard to put into practice.

Writing is a habit just as much as it’s an act, a process and a passion. It’s a lifestyle.

You cannot cultivate a healthy habit unless you practice it regularly. There’s a lot of talk about how long it takes to form a habit and the general consensus is 30 days among people. But according to this Huffington Post article, it’s actually double that. It takes about 66 days or over two months. When you practice a habit like writing daily, you can definitely keep it up in two months’ time. Since NaNoWriMo, I’ve noticed an increase in my blogging since last year. I’ve often heard of writing being compared to a muscle. If you don’t exercise it, the muscle becomes weak.

I’m guilty of not sticking to writing daily for my works in progress. Sometimes I get so overloaded with other stuff. Stuff that takes priority for me. But I do blog almost every other day and have set writing goals. And I think that’s a start in the right direction.

Writing everyday can be as simple as writing a blog post or a diary entry.


Do you believe the best writers write everyday, in some shape or form?

2 thoughts on “Wednesday Words of Wisdom: Shonda Rhimes”

  1. I agree with this–writers write. Often I get caught up in the social networking or trying to create a bookshelf I’d want to show off (I’ve rearranged my shelves twice now to look impressive!) but then my manuscripts get no progress at all.

    One thing is that writers do more than just write within that career. For instance, I’m planning a new story, and I need to figure out who my characters are and what they’re doing before I sit down to write…that way it’ll be better quality (and the words will come faster when I do write.) I think it’s *those* tedious tasks that keep a lot of people procrastinating so much from the “writing.”

    1. So true. I get caught up in the social networking as well, even though blogging helps keep me writing. I agree that we do more than just write within writing, such as character development like you’re talking about, story outlining, editing, research, and sometimes reading or taking a look through our bookshelves for the pure enjoyment of it. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on this 🙂

Leave a Reply

