Wednesday Words of Wisdom: J.K. Rowling and C.S. Lewis

I’ve discovered that my life is book-deficient. For years and years, since the days of university, I’ve been starving myself of one of the most fulfilling and relaxing hobbies to exist. How did this happen?

I think a large part of the reason is that I live in society with such a short attention span. In fact, I found this article the other day explaining how our attention span is less than that of a goldfish. Our attention has also shifted toward technologies over print, probably explaining my reluctance to pick up a paperback or hardcover these days. But, despite all that, I’ve still found a way to re-ignite my love for print books.

Compared to 2014, I only read a total of 2 books. Yikes! In 2015, I’ve read 9 so far. I keep track of all this on my Goodreads account. I think setting my goal for the 2015 Reading Challenge on Goodreads has also helped. I’ve aimed to read 15 and have been pretty surprised by my success so far.

Lately, I’ve been signing out books from the library more, committing to regular reading and really making good use of Goodreads’ features. And two nights ago, I was so elated to finish a book I had been putting aside for so long. It’s a non-fiction book called Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking by Susan Cain. It’s an in-depth study of the psychology of introversion and the many experiences of introverts in Western society.

Quiet Book Cover

It was fascinating and informative but I was pleasantly surprised by how much it resonated with me. I finished the book with a deep sense of satisfaction, confidence and revelation. For me, it affirmed a lot of truths about myself, about society and about my capabilities as an introvert. By the end of the book, I had lost myself in it, absorbed by other people’s stories and theories about introversion.

I think I forgot that a book could do that to you. It reminds you of the positive effect someone else’s words can have on you and your whole outlook. And that is exactly what books do for us.


“I do believe something very magical can happen when you read a good book.” – J.K. Rowling

“We read to know that we are not alone.” -C.S. Lewis

3 thoughts on “Wednesday Words of Wisdom: J.K. Rowling and C.S. Lewis

  1. Yusra Gulab Jamman 🍰 🐒 says:

    Congratulations on upping your book count this year! 🙂 Goodreads really is such a great tool for encouraging us to read more… I’ve found it really helpful as well. Speaking of which, I’m off to add that introvert book to my to-read list! Hehe :-p

  2. Samantha Brown says:

    I started listening to the audio version of ‘Quiet’ a few months ago and thought it was amazing but I haven’t listened to it since (I’m probably a third of the way in) – this has really motivated me to keep listening to the audio book! I loved what I’ve read so far!

    Sam xx
    http://www.smart-twenties.com – how to make the most of your twenties

Leave a Reply

