book tags

Lazy Sunday: Stacking the Shelves #3

I’ve been in such a reading mode lately, especially since I reached the 11th book of the year yesterday. I set a Goodreads reading challenge to read 15 books in 2015 and I’m happy to say that I’m close to reaching that goal. Like others who enjoy reading, I buy books like other people buy shoes. Those buys give me a great high when I admire the book covers and relish in the anticipation of reading them. 

Stacking the Shelves

There was a big points promotion going on at my local bookstore (hey, I can’t help a good deal) and I thought it was a perfect time to buy some books I had been eyeing for a while. I thought I’d share my new books in a Stacking the Shelves post, hosted by Tynga’s Reviews. If you’re interested in participating, just follow the link and join the fun.

Here are the books I’m adding to my shelves:

the girl on the train

I kept seeing and hearing about this novel everywhere. There are two things about this book that caught my attention: the gripping synopsis and the book cover. Thrillers aren’t  books I read but I do enjoy thriller movies, so I think I’ll like this one. I’ve heard it’s similar to the movie Gone Girl, which I really enjoyed.

The Girl on the Train book cover

Secondly, the cover is just great: the font and graphic are out-of-focus, as if you are on a train, and it’s just visually really eye-catching.

dracula

This is an all-time classic that I just have to read. Being a fan of vampires and Gothic stories, I think this book will suit me really well. Someone asked me if I’d be creeped out by reading this and it made me laugh. I know I probably will be scared but I enjoy being creeped out by stories. I’ve recently gotten into the horror show, Penny Dreadful and I absolutely love it. Plus, I can add this to the list of classics that I’ve read.

Dracula

the fortune hunter: a novel

I’m normally not one to choose a book based solely on its cover but I think this one is beautiful. The title of the book also intrigued me and it makes the genre kind of ambiguous to me. At first I thought it might be an historical fantasy or maybe a Victorian mystery/crime/drama/action story but to my surprise I found out it was an historical fiction about Empress Elisabeth of Austria, a woman who seemed to live an interesting life and who I know nothing about. Apparently, it was alleged that she had an affair with an Englishman, George Bay Middleton. I’ve watched the author’s video on Goodreads where she was describing her inspiration for the novel and walking through a museum on Elisabeth. Both the writer and book really have me interested.

The Fortune Hunter- A Novel

I can’t wait to read these books and review them. What books are you looking forward to reading most? Have you set a reading goal for this year too?

6 thoughts on “Lazy Sunday: Stacking the Shelves #3”

  1. I’m envious of your reading frenzie! I haven’t been able to complete a book that wasn’t assigned to me since last September! And I can’t even remember the one before that!

    1. Haha, honestly I just sort of slipped back into it and now I have a good amount of time to devote to it. I know the feeling though–when I was in university I don’t think I read fiction books for fun at all. I was too overloaded with assigned readings and then like you said, I couldn’t remember what I read from one week to the next while studying and writing papers. Here’s to some more reading energy for both of us 🙂

  2. I have been going mad on goodreads and have been on a reading spree these past few months. Presently on the Unbearable Lightness of Being by Milan Kundera; Girl on the Train was a gripper!

    1. Haha, same 🙂 It’s such a great site for bookworms like us. The Unbearable Lightness of Being sounds good–I’ve always been interested in Prague. I’ll have to add that to my TBR list. That’s good to hear about Girl on the Train, I’m really looking forward to reading it. It seems to have gotten positive reception.

Leave a Reply

