Friday Favourites for October

This week’s Friday Favourites consist of my favourite TV show, favourite book series and favourite writing tip for the month of October. 

Favourite TV show: Penny Dreadful

This is a horror show that takes place in Victorian London, starring some major actors like Eva Green and Josh Hartnett. It features all sorts of spooky paranormal characters such as witches, werewolves,  Dorian Gray, and Dr. Frankenstein and his creature. I really like this show because the storyline and characters are compelling, the intro is visually stunning and has beautiful instrumental music, and it does a good job of evoking fear without being too gory. It’s perfect for the fall season and for Halloween. On top of that, it’s a great lesson in character development: the importance of character’s histories, weaknesses, quirks, etc. in relation to the story.

Favourite book series: The Mortal Instruments

I started reading this series in January and am almost finished the third book (there are six books in total). So far I’m enjoying the series, Cassandra Clare’s awesome writing and her compelling characters. The series falls into many genres, including supernatural, urban fantasy and paranormal with its magical elements and its supernatural creatures like vampires, werewolves, angels and demons. This is a good series to curl up to and read when it starts getting chilly outside.

Favourite writing tip: Write for half an hour to an hour daily

I got this tip from Richard Rhodes in How to Write: Advice and Reflections. This is a great book to read if you’re looking for an autobiography of a writer and advice from a writer. With NaNoWriMo coming up, I’ve been skimming through this book and picking up on tips that I hadn’t noticed before. It’s now my goal to write for at least half an hour everyday until I’m prepped to write 1,667 words a day for NaNoWriMo. I usually average around 500-1,000 words in a writing session but I think this will help me know myself better as a writer and help me to not only write more consistently but to also get more words down everyday. I’ll be focusing on this goal throughout October.


What are some of your Friday favourites this week? What are your current faves for TV, books and writing?

2 thoughts on “Friday Favourites for October

  1. Susanna J. Sturgis says:

    I don’t even have a TV, but a friend recently turned me on Sally Wainwright, the creator or co-creator and lead writer on three stupendous shows: Scott & Bailey, Happy Valley, and Last Tango in Halifax. The writing and the acting are stellar throughout.

Leave a Reply

