Monday Minute: I Won NaNoWriMo!

Last night, I validated my novel. I wrote over 50,000 words and won NaNoWriMo for the first time! I can’t believe it. Print

Since my Monday Minute posts are just made up of quick, to-the-minute information, I thought I’d share this exciting news. My story is nowhere near finished at only 50,375 words and I’m still going to finish it to see where it takes me. I honestly think this time around I have a story I can work with and turn into something better. I guess I’d better finish it soon though because I’ll be going through a serious case of the NaNo Blues once this month is over, and because I was really energized by the mutual support and enthusiasm of fellow Wrimos this year.

I’m so glad that I participated this year and I’m even happier that I reached a goal of mine. No matter whether you win NaNoWriMo or not (I can speak from both camps now), you will have accomplished something great. Every year that you write, you’re one step closer to honing your craft, learning new things and discovering what story you want to tell.

Congrats to all the Wrimos this year 🙂

4 thoughts on “Monday Minute: I Won NaNoWriMo!

  1. evelyneholingue says:

    Good for you! I did NaNoWriMo twice and half-way or a little bit more several other times. My latest novel for middle grade was born from NaNoWriMo a few years ago. Like your manuscript it was far from being polished of course, but I had a very first draft and could carve from it. Good luck to you with this manuscript.
    This year I used November to finish an already started draft. I’m not finished but it’s a good start.

    • creativewriter says:

      Thank you. How cool! 🙂 It’s great that many people end up with first drafts they can work with from NaNoWriMo and then turn into publishable novels. Ideally, I wanted to have it done by December but I’m nearly finished, which is promising. It will definitely need lots of editing/proofreading though. Best of luck to you with your manuscript as well and happy writing!

Leave a Reply

