book tags

WWW Wednesday- March 16, 2016

This week I thought I’d try something different from my usual Wednesday Words of Wisdom. I found out about WWW Wednesday, which is hosted by Sam at Taking on a World of Words. Along with talking about writing, I love talking about books.

 

WWW Wednesdays Meme Picture

What are you currently reading? 

I’m currently reading Dracula by Bram Stoker. Recently, I’ve become interested in the horror genre, especially gothic horror. I’ve always wanted to read what’s thought of as the respected forerunner of vampire stories. I think the classical writing style is beautiful–although it seems odd to say that because it’s a horror book but I really love the way Stoker weaves words together. I also love all the characters, including Dracula himself.

 

What did you recently finish reading? 

I recently finished reading a non-fiction book called The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up: The Japanese Art of Decluttering and Organizing by Marie Kondo. And it has been life-changing. I bought it for my birthday and eagerly started sorting through everything: from my clothes to my papers. Books are also a category you have to sort through, which can be pretty tough for any reader. Despite how difficult it can be to go through this process, I’ve been using her method on-and-off for a few months and have felt a noticeable difference in my mindset and outlook on life (others have too!). I’ve felt happier, more focused and more centred. And it feels amazing to let go of things, both literally and figuratively.

What do you think you’ll read next? 

I think I’ll probably read Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins or maybe Mistress of the Art of Death by Ariana Franklin. Anna and the French Kiss is a young adult, contemporary novel set in Paris, France. I’m trying to expose myself to more young adult novels while I rewrite my own young adult novel but I think reading this book might evoke some nostalgic memories of Paris. Paris is one of the most beautiful cities in the world in my opinion and I’d love to be able to experience it again vicariously.

Mistress of the Art of Death, on the other hand, is also set in Europe but about 900 years ago. It’s the first book in a mystery series with a smart heroine named Adelia and lots of history. Even though Ariana Franklin really knows her stuff when it comes to medieval history and it shows in the detail of the story, her novels tend to move at a pretty fast pace. I’ve read The Serpent’s Tale, which is the second book in the series. I loved the suspenseful pace and think this one will be just as good.


What are you currently reading or what did you recently finish reading? Share in the comments below or feel free to join in with Sam’s meme!

6 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday- March 16, 2016”

  1. Glad you’re enjoying Dracula! I’ve (regretfully) never read it but my husband is big on classic vampire literature and talks about it incessantly. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    1. I can definitely see why he likes it. It’s pretty good and will go down as a favourite classic in my view too. Thanks, happy reading to you too! Thanks for hosting it, it’s really fun 🙂

    1. Haha, I can understand! It didn’t really creep me out at first but now that I’m nearing the end, I’m feeling a bit jumpy 🙂 Nice! That’d be wonderful to dream about Paris. Happy reading and thanks for your comment!

Leave a Reply

