writing quotes

Wednesday Words of Wisdom: Pablo Neruda

I know Pablo Neruda best from his poem, “Your Feet.” The Chilean poet’s work is beautiful and eloquent. I also came across this wonderfully-stated quote from him.

“All paths lead to the same goal: to convey to others what we are.” -Pablo Neruda

What a great quote! So simply and beautifully-stated. I think that’s an admirable skill Pablo Neruda had–to convey deep and meaningful thoughts in so few words. But then I suppose that is the special skill of poets…

His words really made me think. In whatever path we choose and wherever that path takes us–whether we are writing a novel, starting a business or devoting our lives to helping others, we are sharing who we truly are with the world. All of our actions convey who we are, what we are and what we stand for.

My family have often thought I’ve been drawn to writing because it’s one way of expressing myself and one that I’ve always found a lot easier as opposed to painting, singing, drawing…or even speaking itself. I think writing conveys a common personality in people: thoughtful…imaginative…creative…intuitive…usually introverted.

More importantly though, I think our paths convey more than just who we are–they also convey what matters to us most. For me, that path is writing. It’s always been writing and for many others, it’s writing as well.

In the stories that we tell, we discover the universal yet personal themes and issues that are most important to us. We also offer a fresh and new perspective for people to see things differently…and maybe even to think about things differently.

I think in conveying who we are through our work we also have the wonderful opportunity of contributing to innovative change and progress.


What do you think of this quote?

7 thoughts on “Wednesday Words of Wisdom: Pablo Neruda”

  1. Neruda’s love poetry is so beautiful! I don’t pretend I understand the precise meaning behind every single line, but the ones that do hit home really make me go “WOW!” 🙂 I really like this quote as well. Thanks for sharing 🙂

  2. One of my favorite pieces of music ever is Mikis Theodorakis’s setting of Neruda’s Canto General. I’ve got two different versions of it and I play it whenever I feel depressed by the state of the world.

Leave a Reply

