Friday Favourites: Birthday Faves

Lately, my blog updates have been a little sporadic. I’ve been trying to get back into my regular blog schedule for a while now. This week I missed my Wednesday Words of Wisdom update because I was busy celebrating my birthday.

Normally, I feature some of my favourite blogs that I’ve found on my Friday Favourites segment but sometimes I also share some Friday Favourites of my own. These include books, TV shows, movies, etc. Although this blog is about the craft of writing, I like to write about things that inspire me, entertain me and educate me, both as a writer and as a person.

So, this week’s Friday Favourites are some of my favourite new finds!

The 5th Wave: I saw this movie for my birthday and absolutely loved it. I found out that it’s based on a book series and this got me really interested. To sum it up, it’s basically a dystopian young adult story about a girl who has to save her younger brother from alien invaders who inhabit human hosts.

The 5th Wave

 

It’s like Divergent meets the Hunger Games–but with aliens. The story is pretty cool in my opinion and I like that it touches on themes like greed and colonialism. I’ve added the book to my TBR list and will be giving it a read sometime soon (as soon as I finish some of my current reads) and will most likely post a review on it.


 

The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up: The Japanese Art of Decluttering and Organizing: For my birthday, I also got this book and I’ve seen great reviews about it. It falls into the self-help and nonfiction categories, which are genres I frequently enjoy.

The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up

 

I’m always looking for new ways of thinking and of improving myself as a person, so I thought this book would be a good read. The changes it has caused in her clients and their lives is pretty impressive. So far, Marie Kondo’s methods seem efficient and practical but deep-seated at the same time. I’m liking the book for its minimalist, philosophical approach to spaces and how they affect our state of mind. It’s very eye-opening!

 



Just Add Color: Mandalas
: I got this adult colouring book as a gift for Christmas but since I use it pretty regularly, I see it as a gift to myself. Whenever I’m colouring, I’m giving myself space and time to express my creativity. I remember reading about adult colouring books being used in France to treat stress and anxiety, and it seems to have recently exploded into a big trend now. Colouring books have similar benefits that reading does, including reducing stress and anxiety, sharpening mental focus and concentration, and offering a form of entertainment, among other advantages.

Just Add Color Mandalas

Since using it, I have noticed some changes. I’m a very particular person and hate when I colour outside the lines by accident but I’ve since learned to just let it go and accept imperfections in my work. I also notice an increase in focus and concentration. I’m not as impatient and restless, and it’s pretty fun to watch your piece of art slowly come to life off the page.

I think it makes people more creative because the act of combining different patterns, colours and designs together into a finished piece takes careful consideration, planning and skill. You’re definitely utilizing your logic and creativity together in one fun activity. These are really enjoyable and relaxing, and you end up with some really beautiful pieces.

 

6 thoughts on “Friday Favourites: Birthday Faves

  1. Hemangini says:

    Beautiful choices.. I have the 5th wave on my watch list but I hardly get time to watch movies these days… >.< what to do.. hehe I have to read the art of decluttering I guess… Thanks for sharing 🙂

  2. vidishakaushik says:

    Hey there! I have nominated you for the ‘one lovely blog award’ for creating such a lovely blog. For more details, kindly check out my recent post. Hope you have a beautiful day ahead. 🙂

  3. jrose88 says:

    Coloring books are awesome, and I’ve been meaning to see The 5th Wave (and read the book, eventually). Glad to hear it’s a cool movie.

    Also, I have nominated you for the 3 quotes in 3 days challenge. Should you chose to accept write a post with a quote for three days and nominate three bloggers each day. 🙂

Leave a Reply

