readathons

Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon TBR

Tomorrow is Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon, a reading challenge in which all participants read all day and share their experiences on blogs and social media platforms. Readers also participate in mini-challenges and win prizes. To prepare for Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon, I’m selecting all the books I plan to read through the day.

Dewey's 24-Hour Readathon April 2017

Here are my picks:

Bazaar of Bad Dreams Gone GirlSilent to the Bone     Poor Super ManExtreme Sisterhood

The Bazaar of Bad Dreams by Stephen King: This is a collection of 20 short stories, some of which King has revised many times and some of which have never appeared in print before.

 

The collection features a good blend of horror and supernatural elements and the fact that King can write both shows his talent as a writer. I’ve been meaning to finish it for the longest time and this readathon will give me a chance to do that.

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn: Since people often compare The Girl on the Train to Gone Girl  I think I’ll like Gone Girl. I’ve also seen the movie for Gone Girl and enjoyed it, so I’m hoping my reading experience will be just as good. Thrillers with interesting female heroines are right up my alley.

Silent to the Bone by E.L. Konigsburg: This is a YA mystery novel that’s been sitting on my shelf for ages. It’s short enough that it won’t be overwhelming and it will create that mood I like with thrillers. Mystery is another favourite genre of mine, along with thrillers and historical fiction.

Clueless: Extreme Sisterhood by Randi Reisfeld: A pretty fluffly book compared to my other ones but I figure if I get too overwhelmed by my other more intense books, this one will be a nice reprieve. I’ve always loved the TV show Clueless and reading a Clueless book really takes me back to my childhood.

Poor Super Man: A Play with Captions by Brad Fraser: I’m not normally one for plays or comic books, but this book combines the two. It’s been compared to a comic strip with snappy dialogue and has captions in the style of a comic book. I was also pleasantly surprised to learn that this is a Canadian play. I think this will also offer a nice break from heavy reading.

Are you participating in Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon? If so, what are you reading?

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.