readathons

Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon Update #1

 

So far so good. My 24-hour readathon got off to a good start and although I haven’t read as much as I hoped I would, I’m trying to go easy on myself. If anything, I’ve done more reading today than I usually do!

My reading started a little after midnight and because I’m usually up late, I figured why not start my readathon then?

Afterward, I got some reading done in the morning before I got out of bed. I think I like reading better in the morning than during the night because I get a chance to sneak in some reading (without feeling the pressure of not having enough time before it’s lights out). Throughout the day, I got a little distracted by other tasks (such is life) or as the French more eloquently say, “C’est la vie.” I had to remind myself that this is more like a marathon, not a race and that I should enjoy it.

Dewey's 24-Hour Readathon April 2017

Here are a few updates on my books:

The Bazaar of Bad Dreams by Stephen King: This is an anthology of short stories that I’ve been meaning to finish for the longest time. I’m more of a leisurely reader and like to take my time digesting a book. But sometimes I can take ridiculously long and put a book on hold as I read another one. I’m pretty happy with my progress on this one so far because I started out being a little over halfway through the collection–about 54%– and am now about 62% through it, according to Goodreads.

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn: I started reading this one this morning and am pretty interested by Gillian Flynn’s distinct writing style. Even if I don’t get very far in this one, I’ve at least started it.

Clueless: Extreme Sisterhood by Randi Reisfeld: I read a little bit of this when I needed a break from The Bazaar of Bad Dreams but it didn’t grab me in the same way that it did when I was younger. It’s a little disappointing when you revisit something from your childhood, only to find out that it doesn’t resonate with you in the same way. But that’s okay because it also shows me how much my reading tastes have changed and matured.

As of now, Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon has given me a sense of accomplishment–no matter how small–and it’s even unveiled something about my current reading preferences. How cool is that?

How is your reading going?

SaveSave

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.